IN PURSUIT OF HAPPINESS…

I sat there dejected, quite sad because Ade had a brand new android smartphone. An android! Ever since they became the rave I’ve wanted an android.

“My blackberry is getting old. It’s already six months since it was given to me. Don’t I deserve another phone? I’ve been good, haven’t I?”

I sat there lost in my thoughts. I was that way, unhappy and completely miserable for quite a while, and would have continued like that for much longer had Grandpa not found me.

“Ahmed.” He asked “What troubles you?”
Grandpa and I are close. Pretty close, so I wasted no time in telling him of my predicament. He laughed and asked “Do you really think a new phone would make you happier?”

“Yes Grandpa.” I replied. He cleared this throat and asked once more “What if I shared a treasure with you?”

I’ve always loved his stories so I cheered up and sat expectantly. “That would also help.” I replied. He smiled and began…

“A crow lived in the forest and was absolutely satisfied in life.
But one day he saw a swan. “This swan is so white,” he thought, “and I am so black. This swan must be the happiest bird in the world.”

He expressed his thoughts to the swan. “Actually” the swan replied, “I was feeling that I was the happiest bird around until I saw a parrot, which has two colours. I now think the parrot is the happiest bird in creation.”
The crow then flew to the parrot.

The parrot explained, “I lived a very happy life until I saw a peacock. I have only two colours, but the peacock has multiple colours.”

The crow then visited the peacock in the zoo and saw that hundreds of people had gathered to see him.

After the people had left, the crow approached the peacock.
“Dear peacock,” the crow said, “you are truly beautiful. Every day thousands of people come to see you. When people see me, they immediately shoo me away. You must be the happiest bird in the world.”

The peacock replied, “I always thought that I was the most beautiful and happiest bird on the planet. But because of my beauty, I am entrapped in this zoo. I have examined the zoo very carefully, and I have realized that the crow is the only bird not kept in a cage. So for past few days I have been thinking that I were a crow, just like you, I could happily roam everywhere.”

He stopped talking and smiled. Then he stood up, dusted his behind and was off on his merry way. I then took out my blackberry and had a good long look at it.

I remembered Ade complaining about Data plans.

I remembered Bisi crying when her phone crashed.

I remembered that Nelson was still using a “Java phone” and was as happy as could be.

Then I decided, I’d be content being a crow.

like us on Facebook (Laolu’s Blog) Follow us on twitter @Laolusblog and join the BBM channel- (pin: C00454F4E) for more interesting updates!

2 thoughts on “IN PURSUIT OF HAPPINESS…

  1. R. Stachowiak

    This was very well written. The only change I can see would be in your last paragraph where you would want to specifiy who is talking. Otherwise keep up the excellent work! I look forward to reading more of your work.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

